A 26-year-old jobless man from a Muzaffarnagar village makes a one-seater aircraft out of sheer anger that he could not secure a job all these years. A resident of Kaserva village, a riot-affected region in the district, Abdul Wajid took up the gigantic mission when all his endeavors to secure a job failed. Wajid, during his stint in National Cadet Corps (NCC), had trained in aero-modelling at Safdarjung airport. Now the aircraft, built at a cost of Rs 5 lakh, is ready and awaits necessary approval as does his entire village, he told TOI.

toi_1464262839

“All I want is to show to all those who have found me worthless what I can do. I do not want anything more,” he said. “The day this plane makes its first sortie, I am sure aviation industry will take note of it. Someone may employ me, train me further and utilize my services. At least the Uttar Pradesh chief minister will provide me some monetary assistance as he has done in several other cases in the past,”

The wooden structure weighing around 350kg and measuring a meter in length is supported by a sturdy steel frame and looks like a small aircraft ready to fly. Earlier, Wajid used two bike engines for the aircraft, but those could not give the propellers the required thrust. Eventually, he fitted the structure with the engine of an old Maruti van he purchased from a scrap dealer. The aircraft has cost him Rs 5 lakh which he collected from family, friends and generous villagers.

cardekho_1464262883

The real challenge is now to seek the mandatory permission to fly the aircraft. However, nobody seems to know how to obtain it. Muzaffarnagar additional district magistrate Manoj Singh, who recently visited Wajid and inspected the aircraft, said:”This is the first time such a request has been made. District administration cannot do anything in this matter. Only the civil aviation ministry can grant this permission, but it is easier said than done.”Wajid is now planning to meet the civil aviation minister to secure permission to fly the aircraft. He said beaming with confidence.”If I can construct an aircraft in a remote village of UP, I can also secure permission to fly it.”

